Library Board

Library Board

About the Board
The Board is composed of nine members who are appointed by the mayor of Austin and approved by the city council. The board meets on the second Monday of each month at 4:15 p.m. in the library.

Board Members:

  • Julie Schramek, Chair
  • Alex Mayfield, Vice Chair
  • Barry Irish, Treasurer/Finance Chair
  • Jodi Krueger, Recording Secretary
  • Sally Baker (SELCO Representative)
  • Nathan Annis
  • Murielle Atewologun
  • Melissa Bonorden
  • Kristen Olson
  • Janet Anderson (Austin City Council Liaison)
  • Mike Ankeny (Mower County Board of Commissioners Liaison)

Prioritized Roles
The Austin Public Library’s roles, in order of importance, are: lifelong learning, information literacy with an emphasis on technology, and current topics and titles. These roles are met while maintaining the library’s role as a “commons” and preserving its current environment. (Adopted June 2006)

Vision Statement
The Austin Public Library is a stimulating learning environment that is used by many Austin and Mower County residents. It has interesting, current collections and resources, and up-to-date technology. It is fast, easy, and pleasant to use, and knowledgeable staff is available to help. Library programs promote reading and computer literacy. (Adopted June 2006)

Strategic Plan 2006

Board Policies

Board Minutes
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017 – no meeting
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016 – no meeting